Useful Linux Commands: Mind Map

Janice Sanders
2 min readNov 10, 2023

Thought I'd share another mind map. This one captures some basic Linux commands that are useful for #cloudengineers #devopsengineer #securityengineers #analysts and other #techprofessionals.

If I were teaching a group of youth about Linux commands, I'd probably do something 'corny' like encourage a sing-along...

(Lowkey stands and sings vicariously to the tune of Dora "I'm the map!")

🎶 If there's a file you wanna see,
Cat or less is what you need,
I'm cmd!
I'm cmd, I'm cmd!

If there's a task you wanna run,
A crazy process to be done,
I'm cmd!
I'm cmd, I'm cmd!

I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd!

With ls you can list, 
Grep to find what you have missed,
I'm cmd!
I'm cmd, I'm cmd!

For permissions, chmod is key,
Linux commands can set you free,
I'm cmd!
I'm cmd, I'm cmd!

I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd, I'm cmd,
I'm cmd! 🎶

You couldn't help but sing along, right??!! 😂

I wrote this Linux jingle and might just put it to use if I ever teach a group of youth about Linux. The teacher in me... Teach2Geek

Enjoy the mind map. Feel free to save and share.
Note: not an exhaustive list

--

--

Janice Sanders

Cloud Engineer | Cloud Security Engineer | DevOps | Multi-Cloud | Coursera Course Developer | Former Writing Teacher